top of page


St. Laurence's Ladies Gaelic Football Club provides gaelic football for ladies of all ages in a fun and friendly environment.


The LGFA [Ladies' Gaelic Football Association] (Irish: Cumann Peil Gael na mBan) is the organisation which promotes and regulates ladies' gaelic football in Ireland.


The association was founded in Hayes' Hotel, Thurles, County Tipperary on 18 July 1974, almost 90 years after the Gaelic Athletic Association was founded in the same hotel.


The first Championship Trophy (the Brendan Martin Cup was contested in Autumn of the year 1974. Eight counties - Roscommon, Laois, Offaly, Galway, Kerry, Cork, Waterford and Tipperary - participated in the inaugural set of games, and Tipperary won the championship.


Gradually, the number of competing counties increased. In 1982 the association received recognition for the first time as a body independent of the GAA.


At the beginning of the 1990s, counties which were not already registered joined the organisation and games are currently played in all counties in Ireland.


Facebook is the Main ONLINE Notice Board for the St. Laurence’s Ladies Gaelic Football Club, Please LIKE & FOLLOW.

Social Media Round Transparant.png
bottom of page